Refrain Book Update: Creativity is about Consistency

Nothing challenges the consistency of my creativity more than a day job, and I’ve had plenty of those over the years. I’m back to work as a middle school literacy teacher so my days, once again, fill with lessons and meetings and drives across town. Gone are those summer sessions of writing until noon.

Then after a week full of time crunches, I receive a notification that my second full interior proof is ready for approval. Silly me. I thought the actual book would appear in the mail. After all, I did submit the changes. Now I know that I have to pour over the proof, once again, to make sure the changes I requested are correct. READ THE ENTIRE POST…

About JoDee Luna

“I’m lost in a love affair with portrait painting!” JoDee Luna confesses. This author, artist, and educator describes herself as a creative eclectic due to her diverse history, multiple talents, and various career pursuits. She enjoys a host of creative expressions: mixed media, mask making, floral designing, photography, sculpture, and gardening. JoDee believes the creative process infuses her with the courage to try on new artistic identities, take inspired risks, and explore imaginative ideas. She seeks to share her insights with others through her book, Refrain from the Identical: Insight and Inspiration for Creative Eclectics and website by the same name, http://refrainfromtheidentical.com. Both provide helpful tips and inspiration for artistic multi-taskers, those who enjoy various forms of artistic expression.
This entry was posted in The Book: Refrain from the Identical: Insights and Inspiration for Creative Eclectics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Refrain Book Update: Creativity is about Consistency

  1. Literacy teacher. Except for the naturally motivated college bound most of my 11th grade kids were 2-5 years behind in reading level. Now merit pay has been instituted. These kids will never grow intellectually because they see no intrinsic value in education and have given up. That means the teacher assigned these kids will be judged incompetent and fired.

  2. JoDee Luna says:

    Carl, I experienced something interesting recently. One of my former students (who scored Far Below Basic on the State exam) just told me that his high school reading placement level was 11th grade. I said, “You didn’t even read the test last year, did you.”
    He laughed and said, “No I didn’t but I’ll try this year.”
    If there was merit pay in my district, I would be judged incompetent and fired.
    Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

