39 “Freedom”

Freedom has a price! At different turning points in my life, I have wrestled with values until I could identify what was most important to me.

The conclusion always seemed the same, I wanted freedom. I wanted the freedom to believe and to live in what brought me life.

But at times, moms give up freedom so our children can eventually find theirs. How well I remember those years of going back to college in order to become a teacher.

I had to make a living so my children could go on living. Was it worth it? You bet it was.

Now, like so many other teachers, I give up freedom every day in order to prepare youth for their future, whether or not they appreciate my efforts.

Freedom is why I love to write. When I write, no one tells me what to write or how to write. I write because I enjoy expressing myself, whether any one else ever reads the words or not.

I can process my confusion and pain. I can think through my goals and objectives. I can identify who I am, what I want, and where I want to go.

But freedom has a price. I have learned that not everyone heralds your choices as brilliant or well-versed. Many may even criticize or use your words as fodder for folly (I like the sound of that).

Working within systems—churches, schools, businesses—requires a certain amount of freedom sacrificing. So when I write, I want my freedom back!

When I create something I find beautiful or meaningful or unique, I experience freedom that takes me beyond all of the usual “life requirements” that squelch my spirit. At times, I like the future’s slate blank.

Sometimes I mistake the carrot of wealth for the promise of freedom. “If I only had more money, I could do what I yearn for and go where I want to,” is how the thinking plays out in my mind. Yet, I have learned from past experience that making money does not guarantee freedom. Often freedom is sacrificed in order to make money.

I have come to an impasse in my ambition as a writer. The reality is that without a large following, I will probably not find a publisher. At first this truth stung until I thought about the price of freedom.

If I self-publish, I may never boast of becoming a best-selling author, but I will be free.

So I will continue to do what I love to do the most in this life and that is to encourage others. The joy writing has become already extends beyond my ability to express in words. Through writing, I have come to find peace with myself and with my Creator and that is something that money cannot buy.

Perhaps there might just be a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow; however, the wonderful gift of writing is that you can pick up some of freedom’s coins along the way.

Blogging Quest learning noted: The blogs that are most captivating for me are those with vibrant photos and honest words.

About JoDee Luna

“I’m lost in a love affair with portrait painting!” JoDee Luna confesses. This author, artist, and educator describes herself as a creative eclectic due to her diverse history, multiple talents, and various career pursuits. She enjoys a host of creative expressions: mixed media, mask making, floral designing, photography, sculpture, and gardening. JoDee believes the creative process infuses her with the courage to try on new artistic identities, take inspired risks, and explore imaginative ideas. She seeks to share her insights with others through her book, Refrain from the Identical: Insight and Inspiration for Creative Eclectics and website by the same name, http://refrainfromtheidentical.com. Both provide helpful tips and inspiration for artistic multi-taskers, those who enjoy various forms of artistic expression.
This entry was posted in "In Search of my Blogging Identity", Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 39 “Freedom”

  1. Linda eubanks says:

    Soar, little eagle!

Leave a Reply

